McDermott wins Wooden Award and Robertson Trophy

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 4/04/2014 1:22 pm

Arlington, TX ( - Creighton sharpshooter Doug McDermott was named the winner of the John R. Wooden Award and Oscar Robertson Trophy on Friday.

McDermott finished his stellar career with 3,150 points, fifth-most in NCAA history, and led the nation in scoring with an average of 26.7 points per game.

The 6-foot-8 forward led Creighton's transition to the Big East and nearly carried the Bluejays to the conference title. They finished behind only Villanova in the regular season and lost to Providence in the conference tournament championship game.

Creighton's season came to an end in the third round of the NCAA Tournament with a loss to Baylor.

McDermott was the Big East's top player this past season and also won player of the year honors in the Missouri Valley Conference the previous two seasons.

In voting for the Wooden Award, McDermott received 3,930 points from a nationwide panel to outdistance Duke freshman Jabari Parker, who garnered 2,569 points. Russ Smith of Louisville was third with 2,228 points.

The Robertson Trophy voting consists of 900 journalists from the United States Basketball Writers Association.

McDermott is only the third Big East winner for each award. The others were from St. John's, as Chris Mullin won in 1985 and Walter Berry picked up the honor the following year.

Stay Connected with WDEF News 12
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.