Eddie Robinson Award finalists announced

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 11/25/2013 11:30 am

Philadelphia, PA (SportsNetwork.com) - Twenty-one finalists were announced on Monday as voting began for the Eddie Robinson Award which honors the outstanding head coach in the FCS.

The winner will be announced Dec. 16 at the FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation.

A panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries select the Robinson Award, which is presented by The Sports Network and in its 27th year. Voting reflects only the regular season.

The Sports Network FCS Awards package is located at http://tinyurl.com/yhv6oh8.

The 2013 Eddie Robinson Award finalists:

Dino Babers, Eastern Illinois - No. 2-ranked Panthers captured the outright Ohio Valley Conference championship and its automatic playoff bid, beat FBS San Diego State and didn't lose to an FCS opponent. 2013 Records: 11-1, 8-0 OVC.

Beau Baldwin, Eastern Washington - No. 3 Eagles won an outright Big Sky Conference title and its automatic playoff bid, and defeated FBS Oregon State. 2013 Records: 10-2, 8-0 Big Sky.

Craig Bohl, North Dakota State - The 2012 Eddie Robinson Award winner guided the two-time defending FCS champion Bison to a perfect record in the regular season and an outright Missouri Valley Football Conference title, plus a win over FBS Kansas State. 2013 Records: 11-0, 8-0 Missouri Valley.

Jamey Chadwell, Charleston Southern - Led the No. 23 Buccaneers to a school record win total in his first season at the helm, and only two years after the program suffered through a winless season. 2013 Records: 10-3, 3-2 Big South.

Jack Cosgrove, Maine - Picked eighth in the CAA Football preseason poll, the 10th-ranked Black Bears won the conference title and its automatic playoff bid, beating FBS Massachusetts along the way. 2013 Records: 10-2, 7-1 CAA.

Bruce Fowler, Furman - Picked seventh in the Southern Conference's two preseason polls, the Paladins earned a share of the title and collected the conference's automatic playoff bid. 2013 Records: 7-5, 6-2 Southern.

Jay Hopson, Alcorn State - In his second season at Alcorn State as the only Caucasian head football coach in Southwestern Athletic Conference history, Hopson led a five-win improvement from 2012 and handed losses to the two conference championship game participants, Jackson State and Southern. 2013 Records: 9-3, 7-2 SWAC.

Russ Huesman, Tennessee at Chattanooga - No. 21 Mocs earned a share of the Southern Conference title and beat FBS transitioning Georgia State. 2013 Records: 8-4, 6-2 Southern.

Bobby Lamb, Mercer - Pioneer Football League team posted four- and five-game winning streaks on the way to setting an NCAA standard for victories by a first-year program (10). 2013 Records: 10-2, 6-2 Pioneer.

Ed Lamb, Southern Utah - After being picked ninth in both Big Sky Conference preseason polls, the 22nd-ranked Thunderbirds tied the school record for wins in a season, earned their first playoff bid and beat FBS South Alabama. 2013 Records: 8-4, 5-3 Big Sky.

Jimmye Laycock, William & Mary - The Tribe posted a five-win improvement from 2012 and spent time in the Top 25 behind one of the nation's stingiest defenses. 2013 Records: 7-5, 4-4 CAA.

Joe Moglia, Coastal Carolina - After guiding the school's first playoff win last season, the second-year coach took the No. 10 Chanticleers back to the playoffs with the Big South Conference's automatic bid. 2013 Records: 11-1, 4-1 Big South.

Joe Moorhead, Fordham - No. 9 Rams won their first 10 games, including against FBS Temple, and secured an FCS playoff bid as a Patriot League at-large selection. 2013 Record: 11-1.

Mark Nofri, Sacred Heart - Playoff-bound Pioneers were picked last in the Northeast Conference, but improved by eight wins from 2012 - the largest increase nationally - while winning the title. 2013 Records: 10-2, 4-2 Northeast.

Jim Parady, Marist - With a school-record eight wins, the Red Foxes earned a share of their first Pioneer Football League championship, only missing the playoffs on a tiebreaker. 2013 Records: 8-3, 7-1 Pioneer.

Buddy Pough, South Carolina State - The No. 25 Bulldogs rebounded from their only losing record in Pough's 12 seasons to earn a share of the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference title and a playoff bid. 2013 Records: 9-3, 7-1 MEAC.

Rod Reed, Tennessee State - The No. 19 Tigers used a dominant defense to finish second in the competitive Ohio Valley Conference and earn their first playoff bid since 1999. 2013 Records: 9-3, 6-2 OVC.

Ron Roberts, Southeastern Louisiana - After being picked fifth in the Southland Conference preseason coaches poll, the No. 7 Lions won the title for the first time and earned the automatic playoff bid during a nine-game winning streak. 2013 Records: 10-2, 7-0 Southland.

Bob Surace, Princeton - The Tigers joined the Top 25 for the first time since 2006 while earning a share of their first Ivy League title since that season, smashing offensive records along the way. 2013 Records: 8-2, 6-1 Ivy.

Matt Viator, McNeese State - No. 6 Cowboys have never had a losing record in Viator's eight seasons, and his Southland Conference squad beat FBS South Florida on the way to its first playoff bid since 2009. 2013 Records: 10-2, 6-1 Southland.

Eric Wolford, Youngstown State - No. 17 Penguins from the Missouri Valley Football Conference ran off a six-game winning streak for their third consecutive winning season. 2013 Records: 8-4, 5-3 Missouri Valley.

Featured Partners
The newly modeled East Ridge Residence is a must see with its spacious comfortable apartments. Plus, 3 delicious meals daily, geriatric physician, home healthcare services and fun festive activities. Schedule your visit today!
Together we can make a confident retirement possible. Simply click to get started with your private wealth advisor. Talk to Jimmy Scotchie, Certified Financial Planner.
Get started at $79.99 a month for 12 months. Plus, get a $75 VISA® Prepaid card.
Supermarket Guru
From The Archives
Scenic City Roots
Through Irish Eyes
Brand News
Prime Mashup
What's Trending
Megan Wise Goes Outside
Stay Connected with WDEF News 12
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.