NFF announces National Scholar-Athlete Awards

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 10/31/2013 12:19 pm

Irving, Texas ( - The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame included three FCS players on its list of recipients for the 56th National Scholar-Athlete Class announced Thursday.

Recipients are awarded $18,000 postgraduate scholarships.

The list includes 16 members who are finalists for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes an indivudual as the best football scholar- athlete in the nation.

The FCS players on the list are Cornell quarterback Jeff Mathews, Coastal Carolina wide receiver Niccolo Mastromatteo and Appalachian State wide receiver Tony Washington.

Recipients join a list of other honorees that includes former NFL linebacker Derrick Brooks, Hall of Fame quarterback Steve Young and Heisman Trophy winners Doug Flutie and Tim Tebow.

The NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program launched in 1959, and is the first initiative in history to award scholar-athletes postgraduate scholarships for their combined athletic, academic and leadership skills.

Featured Partners
The newly modeled East Ridge Residence is a must see with its spacious comfortable apartments. Plus, 3 delicious meals daily, geriatric physician, home healthcare services and fun festive activities. Schedule your visit today!
Together we can make a confident retirement possible. Simply click to get started with your private wealth advisor. Talk to Jimmy Scotchie, Certified Financial Planner.
Get started at $79.99 a month for 12 months. Plus, get a $75 VISA® Prepaid card.
Supermarket Guru
From The Archives
Scenic City Roots
Through Irish Eyes
Brand News
Prime Mashup
What's Trending
Megan Wise Goes Outside
Stay Connected with WDEF News 12
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.