3 Orioles win Silver Slugger Awards

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 11/06/2013 8:22 pm

(SportsNetwork.com) - Three Baltimore Orioles players and all six finalists for Most Valuable Player won Silver Slugger Awards on Wednesday.

First baseman Chris Davis, shortstop J.J. Hardy and center fielder Adam Jones gave the Orioles more winners than any other team.

Davis joined fellow American League MVP nominees Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers and Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels as recipients of the award honoring the top major league offensive players at each position.

National League MVP nominees Paul Goldschmidt of the Arizona Diamondbacks, Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates and Yadier Molina of the St. Louis Cardinals were also honored.

Six NL players won their first Silver Slugger award, including Goldschmidt and Molina, and three captured their second.

Boston Red Sox designated hitter David Ortiz won his sixth award and Cabrera, New York Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano and Minnesota Twins catcher Joe Mauer captured their fifth.

Davis led the majors with 53 home runs and 138 RBI to win the award for the first time, and third baseman Cabrera, the reigning AL Triple Crown and MVP winner, topped both leagues with a .348 average to win for a second straight year.

Hardy and Jones also won their first Silver Slugger award and Trout, the star outfielder, won his second in two major league seasons. Detroit right fielder Torii Hunter rounded out the AL winners with his second.

Goldschmidt led the NL with 125 RBI and Pittsburgh Pirates third baseman Pedro Alvarez had a league-best 36 home runs to win their first award. McCutchen won his second in a row in the outfield to give Pittsburgh two honorees.

Molina, the Cardinals catcher, won his first Silver Slugger after hitting .319 and teammate Matt Carpenter, a second baseman, captured his first by batting .318 and leading the majors in doubles.

Colorado Rockies outfielder Michael Cuddyer led the NL with a .331 average to win for the first time and Los Angeles Dodgers right-hander Zack Greinke hit .328 to win the award for pitchers, his first.

Washington Nationals shortstop Ian Desmond and Cincinnati Reds outfielder Jay Bruce won for the second time.

Featured Partners
The newly modeled East Ridge Residence is a must see with its spacious comfortable apartments. Plus, 3 delicious meals daily, geriatric physician, home healthcare services and fun festive activities. Schedule your visit today!
Together we can make a confident retirement possible. Simply click to get started with your private wealth advisor. Talk to Jimmy Scotchie, Certified Financial Planner.
Get started at $79.99 a month for 12 months. Plus, get a $75 VISA® Prepaid card.
Supermarket Guru
From The Archives
Scenic City Roots
Through Irish Eyes
Brand News
Prime Mashup
What's Trending
Megan Wise Goes Outside
Stay Connected with WDEF News 12
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.