MLB to form succession committee to find Selig's replacement

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 5/15/2014 2:00 pm

New York, NY ( - Commissioner Bud Selig and the Major League Executive Council announced on Thursday the formation of a succession committee. The majority of their work will be focused on the selection process of the game's next commissioner.

It will be a seven-member committee to act on behalf of the Executive Council in overseeing the succession process and collecting the input of all 30 MLB teams.

St. Louis Cardinals owner and CEO, Bill DeWitt Jr. will be the committee's chairman.

"Our committee will conduct a thorough, discreet process and ultimately will provide guidance to the Executive Council on identifying a successor," DeWitt stated. "All of the parties involved share the goal of acting in our game's best interests, and thus we will refrain from commenting out of respect for the confidentiality of the process."

The other members are Philadelphia Phillies president & CEO David Montgomery; Colorado Rockies owner & CEO Dick Monfort; Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim owner Arte Moreno; Pittsburgh Pirates chairman Bob Nutting; Minnesota Twins CEO Jim Pohlad and Chicago White Sox chairman Jerry Reinsdorf.

Selig's current term ends on Jan. 24, 2015.

Stay Connected with WDEF News 12
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.