MLB to name reliever awards after Rivera, Hoffman

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 4/09/2014 12:55 pm

New York, NY ( - Major League Baseball announced Wednesday that it will honor the top relief pitchers each year with the "Mariano Rivera American League Reliever of the Year Award" and the "Trevor Hoffman National League Reliever of the Year Award."

The new honors will replace MLB's "Delivery Man of the Year Award," which was presented to one winner in all of Major League Baseball from 2005-2013. Voting on that award was conducted by a panel designated by Major League Baseball.

A panel of nine of the greatest relief pitchers in history, including Rivera and Hoffman, will vote on the recipients of the new awards. Other voters will include Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Rich "Goose" Gossage, Bruce Sutter, Lee Smith, John Franco and Billy Wagner.

Rivera is baseball's all-time saves leader with 652. He pitched 19 seasons in the big leagues for the New York Yankees and compiled an 82-60 record with a 2.21 ERA over 1,115 career games. Rivera, who won five World Series titles, collected three MLB Delivery Man of the Year Awards (2005-06, 2009).

Hoffman ranks No. 2 in career saves with 601. He pitched 18 seasons in the majors for the Marlins (1993), San Diego Padres (1993-2008) and Milwaukee Brewers (2009-10), recording a 61-75 record with a 2.87 ERA over 1,035 career games. The California native captured the NL Rolaids Relief Man Award in 1998 and 2006.

Stay Connected with WDEF News 12
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.