Kyle Busch grabs New Hampshire pole with new track record

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 7/11 6:55 pm

Loudon, NH ( - Kyle Busch will start on the pole for the Camping World RV Sales 301 after setting a new track record and beating Jimmie Johnson in Friday's qualifying at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Johnson held the provisional pole with a lap at 137.790 mph until Busch made a lap at 138.130 mph to earn the top starting position for Sunday's 301-lap race at this flat 1.058-mile track.

Busch claimed his second pole of the season and the 15th of his Sprint Cup Series career. It was also his second pole at New Hampshire. Busch finished second in both Sprint Cup race here last year.

"I gave it everything I had," Busch said. "I thought I was a little too tight, but I guess I was driving through it enough that I still got some good speed and got the throttle down on both ends. Lap felt good, and I thought it was going to be a solid top-four."

The top-11 finishers in qualifying surpassed the previous track record of 136.497 mph, set by Ryan Newman last September. It's the 13th time a new track qualifying record has been set in the series in 2014.

Johnson will lineup with Busch on the front row.

"It's so tough to get a good lap around here," Johnson said. "We want to get the pole, want to be faster, but Kyle found a little bit more out there than us."

Denny Hamlin qualified third, followed by Tony Stewart, Jamie McMurray and Joey Logano.

Finishing seventh through 12th were: Brad Keselowski, Clint Bowyer, Martin Truex Jr., Kasey Kahne, Jeff Gordon, the current points leader, and Kevin Harvick.

Among those drivers who did not advance into the second and final round in qualifying were: rookie Kyle Larson (qualified 13th), Carl Edwards (14th), Matt Kenseth (15th), Paul Menard (16th), Brian Vickers (17th), Kurt Busch (18th), Aric Almirola (19th), rookie Austin Dillon (23rd), Newman (24th), Greg Biffle (27th), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (28th) and Danica Patrick (29th).

Last year at New Hampshire, Vickers won the July race and Kenseth took the checkered flag for the September event. Almirola scored his first victory in the series in last Sunday's rain-shortened race at Daytona.

All 43 drivers who attempted qualifying made the starting field.

Latest Sports Photos
Latest Sports Photos
0 Votes
Team CHOCOLATE MILK member Owen Hammond recovers post-race with lowfat chocolate milk after finishing 140.6 miles at IRONMAN Chattanooga.

0 Votes
a skydiver was injured when attempting to land in a pre game show at the Lookouts opening game on 4/3/2014

0 Votes
SEC Champions Alabama created by artist Ben Teeter S/N C.O.A. available for the dedicated Alabama fan!

1 Vote
first catch of the season looks like a good year

0 Votes
Gina McLeroy Spring City, TN

0 Votes
Our Son Brandon McLeroy MTSU Football 2011 Gina McLeroy Spring City TN

1 Vote
this is James Howard telling Gracie what to do.

0 Votes
Riverbend fun!

0 Votes
I nees a four letter word for the outside layer of a tree.

0 Votes
Cameron is a rising athlete. He has a God given talent for the game of football. This picture is of him stopping the ball carrier in our game in the ...
Featured Partners
The newly modeled East Ridge Residence is a must see with its spacious comfortable apartments. Plus, 3 delicious meals daily, geriatric physician, home healthcare services and fun festive activities. Schedule your visit today!
Together we can make a confident retirement possible. Simply click to get started with your private wealth advisor. Talk to Jimmy Scotchie, Certified Financial Planner.
Get started at $79.99 a month for 12 months. Plus, get a $75 VISA® Prepaid card.
Supermarket Guru
From The Archives
Scenic City Roots
Through Irish Eyes
Brand News
Prime Mashup
What's Trending
Megan Wise Goes Outside
Stay Connected with WDEF News 12
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.