Dal 2 0 1 0 1 4
Fla 1 2 0 0 0 3
Date of game: 3/5/2015

Recap: Florida vs. Dallas

Sunrise, FL (SportsNetwork.com) - Colton Sceviour scored in the third round of the shootout to lift the Dallas Stars over the Florida Panthers, 4-3, on Thursday.

Curtis McKenzie, Shawn Horcoff and Alex Goligoski scored in regulation for the Stars, who have won two in a row since a six-game skid.

Kari Lehtonen gave up three goals on 14 shots before being pulled in the second period. Jhonas Enroth made 10 saves and stopped Brandon Pirri, Vincent Trocheck and Nick Bjugstad in the shootout.

Dmitry Kulikov, Jonathan Huberdeau and Pirri lit the lamp for the Panthers, who have lost two in a row.

Florida goaltender Dan Ellis stopped 29-of-32 shots in his first start of the season. The Panthers lost goaltenders Roberto Luongo and Al Montoya to injuries in Tuesday's 3-2 loss to Toronto.

In addition to their goalie problems, the Panthers were missing defensemen Erik Gudbranson and Willie Mitchell and forward Jaromir Jagr on Thursday due to flu-like symptoms.

Florida led 3-2 before Goligoski tied the game at 12:21 of the third with a shot from the point.

McKenzie opened the scoring at 2:33 of the first period. Jason Demers took the puck away from Huberdeau at the Florida blue line, and McKenzie redirected Demers' pass between the legs of Ellis.

Horcoff made it 2-0 at 12:41 after scoring on a 2-on-1 rush. Defenseman Brian Campbell deflected Horcoff's cross-ice pass attempt past Ellis.

Pirri beat Lehtonen through the five-hole at 17:00 of the first to make it a 2-1 game.

Kulikov took a perfect pass from Jussi Jokinen and beat Lehtonen on a breakaway at 8:15 of the second. Huberdeau made it 3-2 at 12:28 when his shot from the left circle got past Lehtonen.

Game Notes

Ellis was acquired by the Panthers from Dallas exactly one year earlier ... Panthers goaltender Sam Brittain was called up from Cincinnati of the ECHL to back up Ellis ... Enroth is 6-0 in shootouts this season.

Leinart, Crouch headline 2016 College HOF ballot

Former Heisman Trophy winners Matt Leinart, Eric Crouch and Rashaan Salaam are among 76 Football Bowl Subdivision players on the ballot for election into the 2016 class of the College Football Hall of Fame.

The Inside Line: Halfway to the Sprint Cup Chase

The regular season in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series has reached its midpoint, with 13 races completed and 13 to go before the championship Chase begins.

Blue Jays activate Navarro from DL

The Toronto Blue Jays activated catcher Dioner Navarro from the 15-day disabled list following a 2-0 loss to the Washington Nationals in the opener of Tuesday's doubleheader.

Stay Connected with WDEF News 12
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.