Klinsmann names 30-man preliminary roster for World Cup

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 5/12/2014 4:02 pm

Bridgeview, IL (SportsNetwork.com) - United States national team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann released his 30-man preliminary roster for this summer's World Cup, and the most glaring omission was forward Eddie Johnson.

The usual suspects such as veterans Michael Bradley, Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan and Tim Howard were included, while players who weren't automatic selections, like Julian Green, John Brooks, Timmy Chandler, DeAndre Yedlin, Maurice Edu, Brad Davis, Joe Corona, Mix Diskerud, Terrence Boyd and Chris Wondolowski, made the initial cut.

Johnson, who was a member of the 2006 World Cup team, was left off of the roster despite scoring five goals in 17 appearances in 2013 and helping the U.S. finish on top of the Hexagonal in CONCACAF qualifying.

But his stock has dropped recently as he has yet to score for D.C. United in eight MLS games this season.

The 30 players will report to a pre-World Cup camp on Wednesday, which will conclude with a friendly against Azerbaijan on May 27.

Klinsmann must then trim his roster down to 23 players and submit his official World Cup roster to FIFA by June 2.

The U.S. opens its World Cup campaign on June 16 in Group G against Ghana.

The following in the full 30-man roster:

GOALKEEPERS: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake).

DEFENDERS: DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nurnberg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders).

MIDFIELDERS: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City).

FORWARDS: Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes).

Stay Connected with WDEF News 12
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.