4 Students Named Peyton Manning Scholars at UT

The University of Tennessee has four new Peyton Manning Scholars.

Manning and interim UT Knoxville Chancellor Wayne Davis welcomed the new members on Tuesday. They are Ford Brewer of Nashville, Kyler Groner of Morristown, Deanna Riley of Spring Hill and Keri Burge of Madison, Alabama. Burge was unable to attend the ceremony.

The Manning Scholarship has been awarded to 37 UT Knoxville students since the endowment was created in 1998.

The university said the scholarship covers nearly the full cost of tuition while the students are at Tennessee. About 450 people applied for the scholarship this year. The scholarships are given out each year based on leadership, academic achievement and community service.

Manning is a former quarterback at Tennessee and in the NFL, where he was MVP five times.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *