Hamilton Co. School Board incumbents return, adds new district seats

Smith, Mosley Jones retain seats; Robinson, Black gain seats

HAMILTON COUNTY, Tenn. (WDEF) — Incumbent school board members Joe Smith and Karitsa Mosley Jones of Districts 3 and 5 won handsomely over their opponents Thursday night and to keep their seats on the Hamilton County School Board.

Democratic candidate Ben Connor of District 6 also won handily over Republican Jon Baker and will take over the seat previously held by Chattanooga City Councilwoman Jenny Hill, who did not seek re-election.

However, not all elections have such wide gaps — including the race for new School District 11.

In a close first-ever race for the school board seat, Democratic candidate Jill Black won with 2,167 total votes.

Republican Virginia Anne Manson fell just short, losing to Black by less than 300 votes.

Prior to her victory Thursday night, Black said, “It would be absolutely amazing to represent such a diverse district — that’s why I ran. After I saw them draw this district, I felt the need to step up and run. I felt called the run because of my work in the community. I’ve been a social worker in the community for 17 years.”

School Board District 10 also held its inaugural vote Thursday, which resulted in Republican Faye Robinson defeating her opponents with 2,483 total votes.

Unlike Black, Johnson won handily, gaining more than 1,500 votes over Democratic candidate Jeff P. Crim.

Following Thursday night’s elections, the new Hamilton County School Board stands as follows —

District 1: Republican Rhonda Thurman

District 2: Independent Marco Perez

District 3: Republican Joe Smith

District 4: Independent Tiffanie Robinson

District 5: Democrat Karitsa Mosley Jones

District 6: Democrat Ben Connor

District 7: Republican Joe Wingate

District 8: Republican Larry Grohn

District 9: Republican Gary Kuehn

District 10: Republican Faye Robinson

District 11: Democrat Jill Black

Categories: Chattanooga, Featured, Hamilton County, Local News