Hamilton County adds four more schools to virtual class list

CHATTANOOGA (WDEF) – Hamilton County has moved to virtual classes in four more local schools because of rising Covid cases.

East Hamilton Middle, East Ridge High, Ooltewah Middle, and Hixson Middle are shutting down classrooms for the next few days.

Here is the current list of schools going virtual now.




Hunter Middle School

1/24-1/28 (Monday- Friday)

Soddy Elementary School

1/24-1/26 (Monday- Wednesday)

Loftis Middle School

1/24-1/26 (Monday- Wednesday)

East Hamilton Middle School

1/26 – 1/28 (Wednesday- Friday)

East Ridge High School

1/26 – 1/28 (Wednesday – Friday)

Ooltewah Middle School

1/26 – 1/28 (Wednesday – Friday)

Hixson Middle School

1/27 – 1/31 (Thursday – Monday)

“Current state law does not permit the entire school district to shift to remote learning outside of a declared state of emergency.  Waivers are submitted to the State Commissioner of Education on a school-by-school basis for consideration and approval for a school to pivot to remote instruction for a period of 5 calendar days. ”


Categories: COVID-19, Education, Hamilton County, Local News, News Team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *