HCDE Superintendent Dr. Bryan Johnson Announces Transition Team

HAMILTON COUNTY, Tenn. –Hamilton County Department of Education Superintendent Dr. Bryan Johnson today announced his transition team.

The team brings together industry leaders, community members, national experts, and HCDE personnel to ensure a fast and seamless transfer of power.

“The community will be key to ensuring HCDE is a world-class education system,” Dr. Johnson said. “Our goal is to be the fastest improving system in Tennessee and these leaders will help form our path.”

The newly announced transition team will include:

Bill Kilbride Chattanooga Chamber
Emerson Burch Artistant Group
Elizabeth Baker Parent
Rev. Ernest Reid Second Baptist Church
Gini Pupo-Walker Tennessee Equity Coalition
Stacy Johnson LaPaz
Heather McIntyre HCDE- Teacher
Nathalie Strickland Stella and Dot
Matt Busby Camp House
Andrew Scarbrough Causeway/PriceWaiter
Dr. Steve Highlander HCDE
Hodgen Mainda VP Community Dev- EPB
LaKweshia Ewing Business Owner
Maura Black Sullivan COO- City of Chatt
Joe Wood Battelle For Kids
Jason Tyszko U.S. Chamber Foundation
Sarah Morgan Benwood Foundation
Saunya Goss Principal
Davd Steele Chatt Chamber- Ed Policy
Donna Mason State ACT
James Tucker UTC- McKee Chair of Excellence
Pete Cooper Community Foundation
Edna Varner Public Education Foundation
Dr. Sharon Harper TN Core
Marty Lowe Wsi Workforce Solutions
Indira Dammu TN Score
Dan Liner HCDE TEA
Laura Hessler VP BCBS- Talent
Jared Bigham Chattanooga 2.0
Franklin McCallie Retired Educator
Robin Copp Principal
Lee Sims Principal
Theresa Turner TEA UniServ Coordinator Dist 7
Gladys Pineda Loher Chatt State- Professor
Charles Spencer TVA
Leslie Travis TCAT
Bo Walker State of Tennessee
Dr. Everlena Holmes Community Organizer


“I believe that every facet of a great school district is a commitment to student success. As a community, we must clearly define what a successful student looks like, create a plan of action and ensure that it is implemented with fidelity,” said Dr. Johnson. “The main goal is to ensure student success through proper alignment of internal and external resources, adequate structures and effective leadership. We will have a laser-like focus on ensuring we are doing everything we can to prepare fully students for their future paths and the opportunities that await them.”

The five Transition Team focus areas and drivers are as follows:

  1. Student Achievement: We must ensure that All students (economically disadvantaged, EL and various sub-groups of students) are on track to master core subject content in reading, math, social studies and science through, high-quality tier I instruction, effective instructional frameworks, as well as, the appropriate classroom and school resources.
  2. Postsecondary Ready: We must ensure that ALL students have equitable and relevant access to Early Post-Secondary Opportunities (EPSOs), college and career guidance.
  3. Talent Development: We must recruit, train, retain, and compensate our most valuable assets, our employees, through a sustainable and competitive strategy.
  4. Organizational Efficiency: We must ensure the appropriate structures (district and school-level), budgeting processes and effective use of all available assets (all investments) are realized with a measurable return on investment.
  5. Communications and Stakeholder Engagement: We must shape our own image and define who we are as a system.We must ensure that all stakeholders are informed in a timely, easily accessible and convenient manner. We must also ensure that parents and community partners are engaged appropriately and efforts are aligned to maximize positive student outcomes.

These Transition Team subgroups will have eight weeks to share opportunities Hamilton County Schools can incorporate into the district’s new Strategic Plan.

Categories: Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *