Three Local High School Players Are Finalists For State’s Most Prestigious Basketball Awards

( Hermitage, Tennessee, February 8, 2018 – Three Chattanooga area high school basketball players have been named finalists for the state’s
Mr and Miss Basketball awards. The trio includes McCallie’s Jr Clay, Brainerd’s Jessie Walker, and Bradley Central’s Rhyne Howard.

The awards will be presented to the top girls and boys in five classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on the floor of Murphy Center on the campus of MTSU on Tuesday, March 7 at 7:00 p.m.

A statewide committee of sportswriters selected winners based on performance during the 2017-2018 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head basketball coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

This is the 34th year that the Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards have been presented to Tennessee’s best high school basketball players. American General was the sponsor of the event since the inception of the awards in 1985 until 2001. The Memphis Grizzlies were sponsors of the awards from 2002-2004. From 2005-2015 the Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards were presented at the conclusion of each respective championship game as part of the post-game trophy ceremony.

The draw for the Division I boys’ state basketball tournament will be held prior to the Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards on the floor of Murphy Center at 5:00 p.m. The draw for the Division I girls’ state tournament brackets will be scheduled for 2:00 p.m. on Sunday, March 4 at the DoubleTree Hotel in Murfreesboro.

MEDIA: If you need further information concerning the 2018 Mr. and Miss Basketball awards, please contact Matthew Gillespie or Heather Carter at TSSAA (615-889-6740).

* * * * *

2018 Mr. and Miss Basketball Finalists

Division II-A Miss Basketball Finalists
Casey Collier, Webb School of Knoxville
Ashton Hulme, USJ
Ashlyn Pittman, Friendship Christian

Division II-AA Miss Basketball Finalists
Sydni Harvey, Brentwood Academy
Savanna Owens, Briarcrest
Dontavia Waggoner, Ensworth

Class A Miss Basketball Finalists
Tess Darby, Greenfield
Chloe Moore, Greenfield
Courtney Pritchett, Pickett County

Class AA Miss Basketball Finalists
Gracee Dishman, Cumberland County
Taylor Lamb, South Greene
Akira Levy, Upperman

Class AAA Miss Basketball Finalists
Brinae Alexander, Riverdale
Elizabeth Dixon, Ridgeway
Rhyne Howard, Bradley Central

Division II-A Mr. Basketball Finalists
C.J. Gettelfinger, Grace Christian Academy
Keon Johnson, The Webb School
Malik Riddle, Rossville Christian Academy

Division II-AA Mr. Basketball Finalists
Jr. Clay, McCallie
Darius Garland, Brentwood Academy
Cedric Henderson, Jr., Briarcrest

Class A Mr. Basketball Finalists
Arecko Gipson, MASE
Jackson Hicks, Oakdale
Caden Mills, Van Buren County

Class AA Mr. Basketball Finalists
Kadrion Johnson, Marshall County
Jayden Lockett, East Nashville
Jessie Walker, Brainerd

Class AAA Mr. Basketball Finalists
Mark Freeman, Southwind
Tyler Harris, Cordova
Alex Lomax, Memphis East

Categories: Sports, Sports – Local Sports News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *