The final school closing & opening list for the solar eclipse

[waiting name=”eclipse”]

(WDEF) – Most local school systems have decided to close for the eclipse on August 21st.

But some have decided to extend the school day to include it in the curriculum.

Sequatchie County was the final system to decide they would close this week.

Here are the schools closing for the eclipse.

Hamilton County
Bradley County
Cleveland City
McMinn County
Monroe County
Rhea County
Dayton City
Bledsoe County
Sequatchie County
Marion County
Grundy County
Polk County
Fannin County, GA
Gilmer County, GA

Here are the schools that are extending hours/staying open for the eclipse:

Athens City
Meigs County
Dalton City, GA (extend 30 minutes)
Whitfield County, GA (extend 30 minutes)
Catoosa County, GA (extend 30 minutes)
Walker County, GA (extend 30 minutes)
Dade County, GA (extend 30 minutes)
Dekalb County, AL (extend 1 hour)
Jackson County, AL

Two school systems will not have begun the new year by August 21st

Murray County, GA
Cherokee County, NC

Categories: Bledsoe County, Bradley County, Catoosa County, Cherokee County, Cleveland, Dade County, Dalton, DeKalb County, Grundy County, Hamilton County, Jackson County, Local News, Marion County, McMinn County, Meigs County, Murray County, Polk County, Rhea County, Sequatchie County, Walker County, Whitfield County

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *