Georgia July 26 runoff election results

NORTH GEORGIA, Ga. (WDEF) – Peach State voters headed to the polls Tuesday to cast their ballot in a handful of primary runoff races.

For State House District 3:

Ringgold Attorney Tom Weldon decided not to seek re-election.

That pitted Dewayne Hill against Jeff Holcomb.

Hill won Tuesday with 1,822 votes, or 58% of the vote compared to Holcomb’s 1,324 votes.

For State House District 6 which covers parts of Whitfield and Murray Counties:

Challenger Jason Ridley won 1,839 votes, or 54% of the votes over Incumbent Tom Dickson, who won 1,564 votes.

For the Republican runoff for Tax Commissioner in Catsooa County:

Gary Wayne Autry takes 55% of the vote, with 2,116 voting in his favor. Jama House won 1,756 votes.

In Whitfield County, the Magistrate Court judge runoff goes to Shana Byers Vinyard.

She took 3,566 votes, or 62% over John Lofty’s 2,195 votes.

Murray County Board of Education District 3 was a very tight race.

Only 10 votes separated the Republican runoff.

Aaron Phillips takes 1,040 votes compared to Chris Owens’ 1030. They each got roughly 50% in Tuesdays’ election.

And finally, voters in Whitfield and Murray Counties voted in the runoff to replace retiring Superior Court Judge Jack Partain.

Chief Assistant D.A. Scott Minter won that race with 4,608 votes, or 56% of the vote over Steve Farrow’s 3,583 votes.

Categories: Catoosa County, Consumer News, Government & Politics, Local News, Murray County, Whitfield County

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *