Lawmakers Voting Against Insure Tennessee Get State Health Themselves

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) – Six of the seven senators who voted to kill Gov. Bill Haslam’s proposal to extend health coverage to 280,000 low-income Tennesseans are enrolled in state government-subsidized health insurance.
According to records obtained by The Associated Press under state open records laws, the state-insured senators include Sen. Todd Gardenhire, a Chattanooga Republican who angrily chided a Democratic colleague during committee debates for suggesting that lawmakers receiving government subsidies for their insurance should be more receptive the governor’s proposal to extend coverage to poor Tennesseans.
Gardenhire stressed during the debate that he had private insurance through his private employer Morgan Stanley. He acknowledged on Thursday that he is enrolled in state insurance, but said he doesn’t use it because his coverage through his employer is far superior.

Among Tennessee 132 state lawmakers, 116 carry state health coverage, including 88 of 99 House members and 28 of 33 Senate members. Twenty-three are Democrats and 93 are Republicans. Supporters of Republican Gov. Bill Haslam’s failed proposal to extend coverage to 280,000 low-income Tennesseans argued that lawmakers with state coverage should have been more sympathetic to the plan. A list of state lawmakers enrolled in the state health plan:
Rep. Raumesh Akbari, D-Memphis
Rep. David Alexander, R-Winchester
Rep. Joe Armstrong, D-Knoxville
Rep. Bill Beck, D-Nashville
Rep. Kevin Brooks, R-Cleveland
Rep. Harry Brooks, R-Knoxville
Rep. Sheila Butt, R-Columbia
Rep. Karen Camper, D-Memphis
Rep. Dale Carr, R-Sevierville
Rep. Mike Carter, R-Chattanooga
Rep. Glen Casada, R-Franklin
Rep. John Ray Clemmons, D-Nashville
Rep. Jim Coley, R-Memphis
Rep. Barbara Cooper, R-Memphis
Rep. Martin Daniel, R-Knoxville
Rep. John Deberry, D-Memphis
Rep. Barry Doss, R-Leoma
Rep. Kevin Dunlap, D-McMinnville
Rep. Bill Dunn, R-Knoxville
Rep. Jeremy Durham, R-Franklin
Rep. Jimmy Eldridge, R-Jackson
Rep. Jeremy Faison, R-Cosby
Rep. Andrew Farmer, R-Sevierville
Rep. Joanne Favors, D-Chattanooga
Rep. Craig Fitzhugh, D-Ripley
Rep. John Forgety, R-Athens
Rep. Tilman Goins, R-Morristown
Rep. Curtis Halford, R-Dyer
Rep. GA Hardaway, R-Memphis
Rep. Mike Harrison, R-Rogersville
Rep. Beth Harwell, R-Nashville
Rep. David Hawk, R-Greeneville
Rep. Ryan Haynes, R-Knoxville
Rep. Patsy Hazlewood, R-Chattanooga
Rep. Matthew Hill, R-Jonesborough
Rep. Timothy Hill, R-Blountville
Rep. John Holsclaw, R-Johnson City
Rep. Andy Holt, R-Dresden
Rep. Dan Howell, R-Cleveland
Rep. Curtis Johnson, R-Clarksville
Rep. Sherry Jones, D-Nashville
Rep. Roger Kane, R-Knoxville
Rep. Kelly Keisling, R-Byrdstown
Rep. Sami Kumar, R-Springfield
Rep. William Lamberth, R-Gallatin
Rep. Mary Littleton, R-Dickson
Rep. Ronald Lollar, R-Bartlett
Rep. Harold Love, D-Nashville
Rep. Jon Lundberg, R-Bristol
Rep. Susan Lynn, R-Mt. Juliet
Rep. Pat Marsh, R-Shelbyville
Rep. Judd Matheny, R-Tullahoma
Rep. Jimmy Matlock, R-Lenoir City
Rep. Gerald McCormick, R-Chattanooga
Rep. Steve McDaniel, R-Parkers Crossroads
Rep. Steve McManus, R-Memphis
Rep. Larry Miller, D-Memphis
Rep. Bo Mitchell, D-Nashville
Rep. Joe Pitts, D-Clarksville
Rep. Mark Pody, R-Lebanon
Rep. Jason Powell, D-Nashville
Rep. Dennis Powers, R-Jacksboro
Rep. Bob Ramsey, R-Maryville
Rep. Jay Reedy, R-Erin
Rep. Courtney Rogers, R-Goodlettsville
Rep. Bill Sanderson, R-Kenton
Rep. Charles Sargent, R-Franklin
Rep. Cameron Sexton, R-Crossville
Rep. Jerry Sexton, R-Morristown
Rep. Johnny Shaw, R-Bolivar
Rep. David Shepard, D-Dickson
Rep. Eddie Smith, R-Knoxville
Rep. Mike Sparks, R-Smyrna
Rep. Billy Spivey, R-Lewisburg
Rep. Mike Stewart, D-Nashville
Rep. Art Swann, R-Maryville
Rep. Curry Todd, R-Collierville
Rep. Joe Towns, D-Memphis
Rep. Ron Travis, R-Dayton
Rep. James "Micah" Van Huss, R-Jonesborough
Rep. Terri Lynn Weaver, R-Lancaster
Rep. Mark White, R-Memphis
Rep. Gloria White, R-Murfreesboro
Rep. Leigh Wilburn, R-Somerville
Rep. Ryan Williams, R-Cookeville
Rep. John Windle, D-Livingston
Rep. Tim Wirgau, R-Buchanan
Rep. Rick Womick, R-Murfreesboro
Sen. Paul Bailey, R-Sparta
Sen. Mae Beavers, R-Mt. Juliet
Sen. Mike Bell, R-Riceville
Sen. Rusty Crowe, R-Johnson City
Sen. Steven Dickerson, R-Nashville
Sen. Todd Gardenhire, R-Chattanooga
Sen. Mark Green, R-Clarksville
Sen. Ferrell Haile, R-Gallatin
Sen. Thelma Harper, D-Nashville
Sen. Joey Hensley, R-Hohenwald
Sen. Ed Jackson, R-Jackson
Sen. Jack Johnson, R-Franklin
Sen. Brian Kelsey, R-Germantown
Sen. Sara Kyle, D-Memphis
Sen. Becky Duncan Massey, R-Knoxville
Sen. Randy McNally, R-Oak Ridge
Sen. Frank Niceley, R-Strawberry Plains
Sen. Mark Norris, R-Collierville
Sen. Doug Overbey, R-Maryville
Sen. Ron Ramsey, R-Blountville
Sen. Kerry Roberts, R-Springfield
Sen. Steve Southerland, R-Morristown
Sen. John Stevens, R-Huntingdon
Sen. Reginald Tate, D-Memphis
Sen. Jim Tracy, R-Shelbyville
Sen. Bo Watson, R-Chattanooga
Sen. Ken Yager, R-Kingston
Sen. Jeff Yarbro, D-Nashville
Source: State of Tennessee

Categories: Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *