Meigs Co.’s Swafford wins Mr. Football

NASHVILLE (WDEF) — Meigs County quarterback Aaron Swafford might not be bringing home a state championship ring this year. However, he got another pretty special piece of hardware Sunday night at Nissan Stadium in Nashville.

Swafford recorded over 1,000 yards in the air, and 686 on the ground. The junior gave Meigs 34 total touchdowns this year, including a 95-yard fumble recovery.

“We were excited to be here just to be here, but I mean to win, that’s just something else,” Swafford said. “It’s exciting. I couldn’t be more thankful. I mean, it’s a great individual honor. But it’s a great team honor as well because I couldn’t have got here without my teammates and my coaches and everybody.”

Tyner wide receiver Jeremiah Batiste, Notre Dame wide receiver Cam Wynn and East Hamilton kicker Mason Lafollette were also honored as Mr. Football finalists.

Read below for the full TSSAA release and list of winners:

Tennessee’s best high school football players for 2018 were recognized at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards dinner hosted by the Tennessee Titans.

More than 400 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, attended the 2018 dinner at Nissan Stadium.

“This is such an outstanding honor for all 30 of the young men recognized today at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards,” said Bernard Childress, Executive Director of the TSSAA. “They were here not only due to their athletic ability that they displayed on the field throughout the season, but just as much for their outstanding character and academic achievements.”

High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2018 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration.

The awards were presented to the top football players in each of the nine classifications of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association. The top kickers in the state were also recognized. There were three finalists in this category, regardless of their school’s classification.

The Titans became sponsors of the Mr. Football Awards in 2007.


Division I, Class 1A
Bryce Hanley, Greenback

Division I, Class 2A
Aaron Swafford, Meigs County

Division I, Class 3A
Walker Russell, Alcoa

Division I, Class 4A
Cade Ballard, Greeneville

Division I, Class 5A
Deshawn Page, Fulton

Division I, Class 6A
Devon Starling, Cane Ridge

Division II, Class A
Stone Norton, Davidson Academy

Division II, Class AA
Eric Gray, Lausanne

Division II, Class AAA
Maurice Hampton, MUS

Garrett Taylor, Oakland

Categories: Featured, Sports, Sports – Football, Sports – Local Sports News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *