Mocs Score a 22-19 win at Kent State

(GOMOCS.COM) The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga wrestling team posted a 22-19 win at Kent State this afternoon.  The Mocs won five individual matches to even their record at 3-3, while splitting the two duals on this Ohio trip.

“It was great to close out the semester with a win and some positive momentum,” stated head coach Heath Eslinger.  “Our guys have been working hard, so it was good to get the result.  We are starting for figure some things out and you will see us continue to get better as we move into next semester.”

Action opened at 165 with junior Justin Lampe jumping all over Isaac Bast.  Lampe scored a pin in less than a minute for a 6-0 Chattanooga lead.  It was Lampe’s second win of the weekend as he improved to 6-3 overall.

Senior Sean Mappes followed that with a 6-1 decision over Jared Walker at 174.  Junior Bryce Carr improved to 9-1 on the year with a major decision at 184.  The Golden Flashes scored five points at 197 for close the gap to 13-5.

Senior Jared Johnson won his 10th match against one loss this season with a pin at heavyweight.  He stuck Devin Nye on his back at the 4:06 mark in the second period.
Sophomore Alonzo Allen came up big with a 6-2 decision at 125.  It was his third win and gave UTC a much-needed 22-5 cushion.  Kent State took the last four bouts to close the final gap to 22-19.

The Mocs are taking a few days off for the Christmas break before turning their attention to the Southern Scuffle on Jan. 1-2, 2017.  The Southern Scuffle, presented by Compound Clothing, takes place at the McKenzie Arena in Chattanooga on Jan. 1-2, 2017.  Tickets are on sale now on

Chattanooga 22 – Kent State 19
Kent, Ohio

165: Justin Lampe (UTC) – Fall (0:58) – Isaac Bast (KSU) – UTC 6-0
174: Sean Mappes (UTC) – Dec. 6-1 – Jared Walker (KSU) – UTC 13-0
184: Bryce Carr (UTC) – MD 14-3 – Shane Mast (KSU) – UTC 13-0
197:  Stephen Suglio (KSU) – Tech. Fall 17-2 (4:06) – Barrett Walthall (UTC) – UTC 13-5
285:  No. 14 Jared Johnson (UTC) – Fall (4:11) – Devin Nye (KSU) – UTC 19-5
125: Alonzo Allen (UTC) – Dec. 6-2 – Cory Simpson (KSU) – UTC 22-5
133: Anthony Tutolo (KSU) – Dec. 6-3 – Chris Debien (UTC) – UTC 22-8
141: Chance Driscoll (KSU) – Dec. 6-4 (SV1) – Roman Boylen (UTC) – UTC 22-11
149: Tim Rooney (KSU) – Dec. 6-4 – Dylanger Potter (UTC) – UTC 22-14
157: Casey Sparkman (KSU) – Tech. Fall 20-5 (5:00) – Trey Watson (UTC) – UTC 22-19


Categories: Local News, Sports, Sports – Local Sports News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *