New law July 1st: Uninsured cars can be towed

Nashville, TN (WDEF) – Tennessee drivers who don’t have insurance could face getting towed under a new law.
    The bill passed the general assembly earlier this year.
    The purpose is go after uninsured drivers statewide.
    Starting Wednesday July 1st, law enforcement agencies will have the authority to tow vehicles if they are in violation.
    The legislature also tripled the fine from $100 to $300.
    Right now, officers can’t quickly determine if a driver has insurance, but by next year the VIN numbers of cars will be tied to a database.
    Tennessee has one of the highest rates of uninsured motorists in the country.
Categories: Consumer News, Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *