Ten ‘ArtSpark’ student winners honored

CHATTANOOGA, Tennessee (WDEF)- Ten Hamilton County high school students are being recognized for their artwork.

The winning artwork will be displayed on EPB utility boxes for at least a year and on EPB windows during the month of May.

The students created their artwork based on this year’s theme “Community Sparks.” Each piece shows a design that represents the power of working together to make our community stronger.

Hamilton County School Superintendent Bryan Johnson said this sets the artist up for life careers even outside of art.

“72% of employers say that creativity is the most important skill that they look for in an employee. And when I think about the arts and all that it allows for students to be able to do, the creativity component definitely comes out loud and clear,” said Johnson.

With the completion of this year’s ArtSpark program, EPB will now have 25 utility boxes wrapped with student artwork.

Faith Daan, Hope Daan, Olivia Gonzalez, Breanna Long, Jack Buffington, Diana Huynh, Ashlyn Sowers, Taylor Emerson, Lillian Dent, Sarah Tindell

Categories: Chattanooga, Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *