Royal Baby Alert

London, England (WDEF)- Prince William’s wife, the Duchess of Cambridge, "was safely delivered of a daughter" Saturday morning, less than three hours after checking into St. Mary’s Hospital in London, royal officials said.

The newborn’s name wasn’t immediately announced. When her brother, Prince George, was born in 2013, royal officials waited two days before announcing his name.

Britons have for weeks been betting that it would be a princess and all the top bets for the baby’s name have been for girls. Alice and Charlotte are the clear favorites, followed by Elizabeth, Victoria and Diana – all names with strong connections to royal tradition.

Kensington Palace said the baby – the couple’s second child – was born at 8:34 a.m. London time (0734 GMT, 2:34 a.m. EDT) and weighed 8 pounds 3 ounces (3.7 kilograms).

The princess is fourth in line to the throne and the fifth great-grandchild of Queen Elizabeth II. A royal statement said senior royals "are delighted with the news." The queen marked the occasion by wearing a pink ensemble while carrying out an official engagement in Richmond, North Yorkshire, 250 miles (400 kilometers) north of London.

Die-hard royal fans who had been camping for days outside the hospital danced with delight, chanting "Princess! Princess!" and "Hip, hip, hooray!" A town crier in elaborate costume – with no connection to the royal family – shouted out the news at the hospital’s door, clanging his bell to welcome the new royal.
Categories: US & World News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *